Newbie, with some Celebrity questions

JoeWP

Newbie, with some Celebrity questions

Postby JoeWP » Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:22 pm

Hey All,
My name is Joe, I've been playing guitar for 14 years now, and may soon be the proud owner of a Celebrity semi-hollow. Now, I've never even seen the guitar but when I started playing guitar, I told a friend of my mothers, who is kind of a father to me, and he told me had a guitar in his parents basement that he bought in the 60's and didn't play much. Recently we talked about it again and decided it was a celebrity model. Today I was told I would be getting it soon, but that it has been in a basement for 40 years, and will probably need some repair. So the questions I have are:

1) He told me there was a lifetime warranty on the neck, should it be pulled out of the basement, with a warped neck, how would I go about getting this replaced?

2) The electronics could be in bad shape as well, where could I get new pickups if I cant just have the electronics cleaned?

Knowing that these are great guitars, I'm more than ready to sink some cash into getting it back into good shape, and would love any info I can get!

Thanks!
Joe

Bushers
Valued Member

Re: Newbie, with some Celebrity questions

Postby Bushers » Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:36 pm

I think you'll have to forget about the warranty! You have come to the right place to get all the info needed to get this 'back on the road'! There are many members that know a heck of alot about Mosrites and I think that as soon as you get your new aquisition, you should post pics and go from there, it'll be difficult to assess rework based on assumptions!

And before Danny or Dennis get to chime in, drop by the Introduction section of the forum and tell us a bit about yourself!!

Welcome to the forum Joe!
Jason (Bushers)
1965 Ventures II Model ~ #B233

dubtrub
Administrator

Postby dubtrub » Thu Sep 18, 2008 7:27 pm