howdy and thank you!

nategibson

howdy and thank you!

Postby nategibson » Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:29 am

howdy there good mosrite forum! i have been playing a joe maphis mosrite for several years but have been looking for a mosrite 300 or mosrite 350 for about as long... i checked the mosrite forum a couple days ago... someone posted a link to a stereo 350 (i have since been unable to find said link) in texas and i immediately called and bought it. to whomever called attention to this beauty, many thanks!! i can't wait to get it in the mail and pick out some country ditties on my mosrite tele!
as far as info about me, i've been playing honky tonk and rockabilly with my band, nate gibson and the gashouse gang, for about eight years. we do three different maphis instrumentals and i love the mosrite sound in our country context... i am presently a grad student at indiana university and have been working on a project to tell the story of mosrite records (i have a book on starday records coming out on university of mississippi press in the next year). i'm excited to be here at the forum and look forward to a healthy dialogue about all things mosrite!

101Volts
Master Contributor

Re: howdy and thank you!

Postby 101Volts » Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:45 am

Welcome, Nate! Sounds like you've got a good band going on and you've got some good Mosrite guitars too. What are your opinions of the 350? Oh and I've seen a Mosrite Record on eBay, It was titled "Queen For A Day" I can't recall the name of the singer though. How long were Mosrite Records around?

Austin
1966 Ventures II (German Carved, B670.)
1970s "Not a Blues Bender" Bodies: 2.
1976 Brass Rail Deluxe #10.
2013 Fender Pawn Shop Bass VI.

Veenture
Master Contributor

Postby Veenture » Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:45 am

...sounds good! Welcome aboard... :)

Dennisthe Menace

Postby Dennisthe Menace » Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:47 am

Very interesting Info Nate. Welcome to the Mosrite Community ;)
make the Mos' of it, choose the 'rite stuff.