Review: Fillmore Ranger Mark I Bass

Elnjay

Review: Fillmore Ranger Mark I Bass

Postby Elnjay » Thu Apr 16, 2009 6:46 pm

Wow. Just wow.
The Instrument arrived just after 6 PM PST; it's almost 9 PM here in SoCal; so that MAY give a clue as to the quality time I spent with the Bass...

Where to start?
It is Model Mark I Ranger Bass- S/N RGB 003. That's 003, as in; well
Number 3. Which leads me to believe I have an instrument that there may not be a whole lot of around... Cool. Glad I got it, even if I paid through the proverbial nose!

I have to approach my description in the sense that I can't compare it to a "Mosrite" Bass, because I've never played one before- And I'm also aware that I'm in a Forum of VERY dedicated, knowledgeable and serious Mosrite instrument fans who have forgot more than I will probably ever know!
Be that as it may- I am an experienced bassist and I absolutely know quality instruments.

This is one- big time.

So- I can't say how it stacks up to a vintage Mosrite; but my understanding is that the Fillmore at least according to Ed Roman as well as the other info I've picked up on, the Fillmore IS in some ways today's Mosrite. That's a whole other area.

THIS bass is superb- The fit and finish is amazing, the cool factor is off the hook. No sense going on about how awesome Mosrite is in terms of look, feel, and design, that's just preaching to the choir, but at least allow me to comment as a "newbie"-
The German Curve is so nice- subtle yet essential to the design, absolutely great classic design, should be in a Museum, maybe it is!
The neck- makes my Ric 4003 neck feel slow and thick by comparison.

The Pick-Up is extremely high-gain; it got my reference rig to clip at 12 O'Clock Gain, and that is cool!