Hello from The Big Apple

Eduardo Aguilu

Hello from The Big Apple

Postby Eduardo Aguilu » Fri Aug 25, 2017 2:11 pm

Hi all: I'm a good ol' boy from New York City. I'm not a musician but I think like one and I travel a lot on Google staying up to date on the state of the music business. I have admired many groups that have produced Top 40 hits and I play close attention to the instruments they play. Not to start a flame war but I find that the majority of instruments used (primarily guitars and basses) are all the same styling and none stick out as different. However, there is one exception: Mosrite of California and, especially, The Ventures model. These instruments are to die for. I've always felt that why should one bother buying a clone when one should get the real thing.

That said, I'm going to backtrack to tell you that I am considering buying a Mosrite bass, a Fillmore 1965 reissue, single p/u in beautiful condition with an HSC. The price is attractive ($1,250 shipped free), I'm guessing after much window shopping, The only problem is that the bass is being sold by a seller in Japan and I am concerned with the warning on the listing page about - International items may be subject to customs processing and additional charges. - The seller has a large inventory and he tells me that he sells to American buyers without problems from the U.S. Customs and Border Protection, "Internet Purchases - Your Responsibility and Liability". That page scares the bejesus out of me! That and the added concerns of my wife that I could be getting in over my head if I go ahead and buy the bass has made me decide to pass on it and wait it out until a similar or better offer appears and from a U.S. seller.

How do you all feel about clones such as manufactured by Fillmore and allegedly made in California with some electronics done by Dana Moseley and how do I know if I bought one that this is the case?

I'm interested in reading your, hopefully, knowledgeable replies. Hit me!