amp diagnosis

connie_mack

amp diagnosis

Postby connie_mack » Mon Jun 14, 2010 8:07 pm

as mentioned before, i have jumped (back into) the wonderful world of dc circuits. i'm reading stuff starting from the ground up. at the same time i'm also jumping from place to place in and out of subjects i have had some experience with. one of the reasons i decided to pursue this was that i inherited a nice 15" alnico speaker that i wanted to drive as a practice amp. but out of money....need amp. how? i found some free old stereo amplifiers. yanked the guts out and presto. i gots amps. they work and have nice warm tube sound.....
some problems...i brought the units up to voltage using a variac. but yes, they are old. one from @53 and one from @61.

ok, here's the problem i'm getting a similar sound from both. the sound is like this....if you were to take a microphone and rub it against a coarse cloth. it comes and goes.

on the older amp, it starts out sounding beautiful but this sounds starts taking over and as it gets worse the volume goes down. it levels out but the phantom sound remains.

the "newer" amp has the same sound in it but not so bad. it does not lose volume. it also has a preamp.

this sound has not been described in the diagnosis section of the amp book i presently reading. any ideas where the source of the noise is coming from? thanks in advance.

Veenture
Master Contributor

Re: amp diagnosis

Postby Veenture » Tue Jun 15, 2010 1:21 am

A good clean-up (spray) of those age-old pots maybe? :?

mark1
Top Producer

Postby mark1 » Tue Jun 15, 2010 6:53 am

The first thing to change would be all the electrolytic caps! On amps that old you could fry a tranny real quick if those caps decide to go . With caps that old they could very well be the cause of the sound your hearing.

connie_mack

Postby connie_mack » Tue Jun 15, 2010 8:08 am

thanks veeeeeeeeeeenture, got no money for spray right now, it'll have to wait.