Early 1960s Ampeg Jet J-12 Amp

JimPage
Top Producer

Early 1960s Ampeg Jet J-12 Amp

Postby JimPage » Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:35 pm

Hey--

I played through one of these last week at a band practice, a small gray combo amp in mint condition that belongs to our lead guitar player.

I was playing Bakersfield country stuff on my Celebrity.

The reason I mention this is that the combination of the amp and guitar was quite striking; it was a very sweet sound.

I don't know how common or popular these amps are, but it was nice enough for even me to notice, and I am no amp expert. I am going to take the H60C to this Thursday night's practice and see how that sounds through that amp.

I know most folks seem to focus on old Fender amps, and with good reason, but this was a classy sounding unit. I know that back in the day, I used to use various old Gibson and Silvertone tube amps for guitar and bass, and I always thought they sounded nice, though they were not especially loud.

--Jim
• '99 Martin D-41
• '67 Mosrite Celebrity II
• '72 Mosrite Celebrity III
• '83 Tokai TST56
• '10 Hallmark Barris Krest
• '10 Hallmark 60 Custom
• '10 Hallmark Stradette
• '50s Tele Clone
• Basses: Ashbory, Hofner, 51RI Precision, 5-string, fretless

rog43win
Top Producer

Re: Early 1960s Ampeg Jet J-12 Amp

Postby rog43win » Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:35 pm

Hi Jim.......I believe you because back in the '60's, it seemed that most of the bass players in our area were playing their basses through Ampeg amps......not too many had Fender Bassman amps.........and the sound was perfect.....nice and deep and full and no buzzes or rattles....I can't tell you the model numbers of the amps they used, but definitely Ampegs...

Roger

mark1
Top Producer

Postby mark1 » Tue Mar 02, 2010 7:15 pm